Jackson State University Volleyball Team (SWAC.org)

Birmingham, Ala. – With the 2011 Southwestern Athletic Conference volleyball tournament getting underway on Saturday morning, league coaches made their choices for this year’s top players. Fourteen players were chosen to represent the All-SWAC first and second teams along with four superlatives, Freshman of the Year, Defensive Player of the Year, Newcomer of the Year and Player of the Year.

The SWAC first team was dominated by the East Division as it had six of the seven selections. East division champion Jackson State had four players selected to the first team and one on the second team. Outside hitter Christine Edwards was joined by teammates Paige Williams (Middle Hitter/Blocker), Daedra Carline (Libero) and LaToya Clark (Setter) on the first team, while middle hitter Donisha Dunn earned a spot on the second team. Outside hitters Karensa Beckford (Alabama A&M) and Maya Bell (Alabama State) and middle hitter Jasmine Houston (Prairie View A&M) rounded out the SWAC first team.

Arkansas-Pine Bluff outside hitters Alicia Campbell (Arkansas-Pine Bluff), Christine Ruckman (Prairie View A&M) and Mona Reed (Texas Southern) joined Dunn on the SWAC second team. Fellow middle hitter April Johnson (Grambling State), libero Shanice Faison (Prairie View A&M) and Maria Moulaz (Prairie View A&M) capped off the SWAC second team.

Beckford was named SWAC Player of the Year after leading A&M to a second place finish in the regular second in the East. Bell earned Freshman of the Year honors, while Carline was named Defensive Player of the Year and Edwards Newcomer of the year.


OH – Karensa Benford, Alabama A&M, SR, St. Anne Bay, Iowa
OH – Maya Bell, Alabama State, FR, Moreno Valley, Calif.
OH – Christine Edwards, Jackson State, JR, Lakewood, Calif.
MH/MB – Paige Williams, Jackson State, SO, Arlington, Texas
MH/MB – Jasmine Houston, Prairie View, SR, El Paso, Texas
LIB – Daedra Carline, Jackson State, SR, Fairview, Ore.
S – LaToya Clark, Jackson State, SR, Tallahassee, Fla.

Player of the Year – Karensa Benford (Alabama A&M)
Defensive Player of the Year – Daedra Carline (Jackson State)
Freshman of the Year – Maya Bell (Alabama State)
Newcomer of the Year – Christine Edwards (Jackson State)


OH – Alicia Campbell, Arkansas-Pine Bluff, FR, Dallas, Texas
OH – Christine Ruckman, Prairie View, JR, San Antonio, Texas
OH – Mona Reed – Texas Southern, FR, Stafford, Texas
MH/MB – Dunisha Dunn – Jackson State, SR, Austin, Texas
MH/MB – April Johnson, Grambling State, JR, Cedar Hill, Texas
LIB – Shanica Faison Prairie View, FR, Converse, Texas
S – Maria Moulaz Prairie View, JR, Brasilia, Brazil

Courtesy of SWAC