Pictured left to right: President Allen Sessoms, Interim Provost Graeme Baxter, Verizon Vice President of Government Relations and UDC Board Chairman Joseph Askew, Jr., 2010 Verizon Scholarship recipient Andrea White, Dr. Beverly Hartline, 2010 Verizon Scholarship recipient Brice Koukoua, Associate Vice President for Advancement John Butler, and Dr. Valerie Epps.

Dr. Allen Sessoms on Tuesday accepted a check for nearly $17,000 from the Verizon Foundation for the purpose of funding scholarships for deserving students.