The 2011 AFCA Division II Coaches’ All-America Team was recently announced by the American Football Coaches Association and Morehouse College running back David Carter was named to the team.

Carter, a native of Marietta, GA, was one of three running backs named to the team and was the lone representative from the Southern Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (SIAC).

In 2011, the 5-10, 225-pound junior led the SIAC in rushing with 1,495 yards and scoring with 19 touchdowns while being named SIAC Player of the Year. The two-time All-SIAC selection also broke an NCAA Division II record for most rushing yards in a half with 251 yards in the first half against Fort Valley State.

The AFCA has selected an All-America team since 1945 and currently selects teams in all five of its divisions. What makes these teams so special is that they are the only ones chosen exclusively by the men who know the players the best — the coaches themselves.

2011 AFCA Division II Coaches’ All-America Team


 Pos Name Ht. Wt. Cl. School Coach Hometown (High School)

WR Trevor Kennedy 6-0 200 Sr. Mercyhurst Marty Schaetzle Akron, Ohio (Firestone)

WR Tyler Steffan 6-4 210 Jr. Mary Myron Schulz Dickinson, N.D. (Dickinson)

OL Garth Heikkinen 6-4 305 Jr. Minnesota-Duluth Bob Nielson Duluth, Minn. (Central)

OL Amini Silatolu* 6-3 320 Sr. Midwestern St. Bill Maskill Tracy, Calif. (West)

OL Kyle Thornton 6-4 345 Sr. North Alabama Terry Bowden Dallas, Texas (St. Mark’s)

OL Rob Stoner 6-2 295 Sr. Edinboro Scott Browning Edinboro, Pa. (General McLane)

OL Ryan Schraeder 6-7 319 Sr. Valdosta St. David Dean Wichita, Kan. (Maize)

QB Dane Simoneau 6-3 227 Sr. Washburn Craig Schurig Salina, Kan. (Sacred Heart)

RB David Carter 5-10 225 Jr. Morehouse Rich Freeman Marietta, Ga. (Sprayberry)

RB Joe Glendening 5-10 188 Jr. Hillsdale Keith Otterbein East Grand Rapids, Mich. (East)

RB Jonas Randolph*** 5-10 185 Sr. Mars Hill Tim Clifton Daleville, Ala. (Daleville)


Pos Name Ht. Wt. Cl. School Coach Hometown (High School)

DL Brandon Williams* 6-3 325 Jr. Missouri Southern St. Bart Tatum Kirkwood, Mo. (Rockwood Summit)

DL Aston Whiteside 6-2 285 Sr. Abilene Christian Chris Thomsen Vernon, Texas (Vernon)

DL Todd Storm 6-3 250 Sr. Michigan Tech Tom Kearly Calumet, Mich. (Calumet)

DL Tim Green 6-1 215 Jr. Lincoln (Pa.) O.J. Abanishe Fanwood, N.J. (Scotch Plains)

LB Deon Lacey 6-2 208 Jr. West Alabama Will Hall Brighton, Ala. (Hueytown)

LB Chad Kilgore 6-1 230 Sr. Northwest Missouri St. Adam Dorrel Orrick, Mo. (Excelsior Springs)

LB Nate Dreiling 6-4 228 So. Pittsburg St. Tim Beck Hutchinson, Kan. (Hutchinson)

DB Dontae Smith 6-1 176 Sr. East Central Tim McCarty Deland, Fla. (Deland)

DB Jeremy Jones 5-10 189 Sr. Wayne St. (Mich.) Paul Winters Grand Rapids, Mich. (Rockford)

DB Rontez Miles 6-1 210 Jr. California (Pa.) John Luckhardt Braddock, Pa. (Woodland Hills)

DB Marvin Matthews 6-0 197 Jr. St. Cloud State Scott Underwood Roseville, Minn. (Roseville Area)


Pos Name Ht. Wt. Cl. School Coach Hometown (High School)

P Gregg Berkshire 6-2 210 Sr. Ashland Lee Owens Ashland, Ohio (Ashland)

PK Greg Zuerlein** 6-0 190 Sr. Missouri Western St. Jerry Partridge Lincoln, Neb. (Pius X)

AP Dominique Fitzgerald 6-0 180 Sr. Winston-Salem St. Connell Maynor Danville, Va. (George Washington)

*-2010 AFCA All-American **-2009 AFCA All-American ***-2009 & 2010 AFCA All-American


Ben Baxter
Assistant Commissioner for Communications & New Media
Southern Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (SIAC)