Geoff Dunn, Georgia’s Lieutenant Governor, has begun a study committee to support the state’s many HBCUs. Learn more in the story from Dave Williams below.

(Photo Credit: Stanley Dunlap/Georgia Recorder)

Lt. Gov. Geoff Duncan is forming a Senate study committee to look for ways to foster growth at Georgia’s Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs) and promote access to high-demand industries for the schools’ graduates.

The Interim Legislative Study Committee on Excellence, Innovation and Technology at Historically Black Colleges and Universities will include four Senate Democrats and one Republican. As lieutenant governor, Duncan serves as president of the Senate.

“Georgia’s recognition as a leader in workforce diversity would not be possible without the support of the state’s HBCUs, which produce top-notch graduates that go on to serve as leaders in their respective industries,” Duncan said Wednesday.

“This committee will play a vital role in ensuring the Peach State has the necessary infrastructure to promote and retain the talents of HBCUs and their graduates.”

The committee will be chaired by Sen. Sonya Halpern, D-Atlanta.

“As the daughter of parents who both attended an HBCU and with the rich history and significant economic impact our HBCU’s have played in our state, I commend Lt. Gov. Duncan for this opportunity to identify ways the state can further eliminate roadblocks in the higher education system and promote opportunities for communities of color,” Halpern said. “I look forward to producing an impactful outcome from the committee’s findings.”

Other members of the committee include Sens. Jason Anavitarte, R-Dallas; Tonya Anderson, D-Lithonia; Freddie Powell Sims, D-Dawson; and Valencia Seay, D-Riverdale.

Georgia’s HBCUs include Albany State University, Savannah State University and Fort Valley State University — all members of the University System of Georgia — Paine College in Augusta, and the institutions that comprise the Atlanta University Center: Clark Atlanta University, Morehouse College, Morehouse School of Medicine, and Spelman College.