LSU Jayden Daniels Keeps Streak Alive, Becomes 4th Consecutive Black Heisman Trophy Winner

The 22-year-old is the third-ever LSU winner of college football's highest honor.

After historic-winning season, LSU Tigers quarterback Jayden Daniels wins the 2023 Heisman Trophy. Daniels was announced as the winner this past Saturday over finalists Marvin Harrison Jr., Michael Penix Jr., and Bo Nix.

Daniels joins Joe Burrow (2019) and Billy Cannon (1959) as the third ever LSU Heisman winner and the second LSU quarterback recipient of the award.

“I want to dedicate this award to every boy or girl who has a dream. With faith and hard work, you never know what’s possible,” The Tigers quarterback said during his Saturday night acceptance speech.

“They said I was too skinny, so I added weight. They said I relied on my legs a little bit too much, so you know what? I went to work. I completed all those passes and had the season I had…they said I was too quiet, so I became more vocal and stepped out of my comfort zone, and now I’m here today.”

In addition to thanking his coach, trainers, and staffers, Daniels turned to his family and how they shaped him into a respectable football player.

“Dad, you put a football in my hands when I was young. I know you raised me to be a corner, but hopefully now the decision to play quarterback paid off.”

“You encouraged me to always better myself because you always believed in me no matter what. I graduated in three years because that’s something you pushed me to do. And here I am now on this stage. I love you, Mom.”

Daniels, who initially committed to Arizona State in 2018, led the Sun Devils to a 20-14 victory at the 2019 Sun Bowl and a 2-2 record in 2020. In 2022, Daniels transferred to LSU where he won the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award in the 2023 season.

Over Daniels’ five-year college career, he amassed record breaking stats such as becoming the first player in FBS history with over 12,000 passing yards and 3,000 rushing yards.

Daniels joins 37 African American winners to hold the prestigious honor.