This week, the White House Initiative on Historically Black Colleges and Universities (WHIHBCUs) announced its 2015 HBCU All-Stars, recognizing 83 undergraduate, graduate, and professional students for their accomplishments in academics, leadership, and civic engagement.

The All-Stars were selected from more than 450 students who submitted applications that included a transcript, resume, essay, and recommendation. Over the course of the year, the HBCU All-Stars will serve as ambassadors of the WHIHBCUs by providing outreach and communication with their fellow students about the value of education and the role of the Initiative as a networking resource.  Through social media and their relationships with community based organizations, the All-Stars will share promising and proven practices that support opportunities for all young people to achieve their educational and career potential.

“The Obama Administration is committed to promoting excellence, innovation and sustainability across our nation’s HBCUs. This year’s class of All-Stars has distinguished itself as exemplars of the talent that HBCUs cultivate and noble ambassadors of their respective institutions.” said Ivory A. Toldson, WHIHBCUs’ acting executive director. “We are confident these impressive students will help the White House Initiative on HBCUs meaningfully engage with students, showcase their talent and advance our agenda to advance academic excellence at HBCUs.”

In addition, the All-Stars will also participate in this year’s White House HBCU Week Conference in September as well as various national events, web chats with Toldson and other Initiative staff and professionals from a range of disciplines. The All-Stars will have exceptional opportunities to engage with other HBCU scholars and to showcase their individual and collective talent across the HBCU community.

For more information regarding the 2015 HBCU All-Star Student program and application contact: and follow @WHI_HBCUs on Twitter.

NOTE TO EDITORS: Attached is a list of the 2015 HBCU All-Stars, alphabetical by their hometown state, and including the city they are from, the school they attend and the school’s location.

2015 HBCU All Stars

Greensboro – Jamie Binns, Talladega College, Talladega, AL
Huntsville – Ajiah Graham, J.F. Drake State Community and Technical College, Huntsville, AL
Huntsville – Kedgeree McKenzie, Oakwood University, Huntsville, AL
Tuscaloosa – Avery Brown, Stillman College, Tuscaloosa, AL

Pine Bluff – Sidney Smith, University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff, Pine Bluff, AR

Palmdale – Jynae Jones, Miles College, Fairfield, AL

Denver- Cynthia Hall, St. Philips College, San Antonio, TX

Beachrhell Jacques – University of the District of Columbia, Washington, D.C.

Miami Gardens – AcNeal Williams, Florida Memorial University, Miami Gardens, FL
Miami – Marquise McGriff, Florida Memorial University, Miami Gardens, FL
Orlando, Landon Wright, Bethune-Cookman University, Daytona Beach, FL
Tallahassee, Gilda Brown, Florida A&M University, Tallahassee, FL

Atlanta – Jennifer Smith, Florida A&M University, Tallahassee, FL
Atlanta – Lauren Wiggins, Tennessee State University, Nashville, TN
Atlanta – Rebecca Dorsey, Albany State University, Albany, GA
Atlanta – Chaz Gibson, Howard University, Washington, D.C.
Atlanta – Angelica Willis, North Carolina A&T University, Greensboro, NC
Atlanta – Alayna Robinson, Xavier University of Louisiana, New Orleans, LA
Augusta – Patrick Outler, Morris College, Sumter, SC
Barnesville – Austin Ogletree, North Carolina A&T University, Greensboro, NC
Covington – Timothy Tukes, Morehouse College, Atlanta, GA
Fayetteville – Lindsey Foster, Howard University, Washington, D.C.
Macon – Vi’Dual Futch, Benedict College, Columbia, SC
McDonough – Zoe McDowell, Clark Atlanta University, Atlanta, GA
Warner Robbins – Shelton Bowens, Savannah State University, Savannah, GA

Fishers – Kasey Hornbuckle, Tuskegee University, Tuskegee, AL

Radcliff – Ralph Williams, Kentucky State University, Frankfort, KY

Baton Rouge – Sally Ross, Southern University and A&M College, Baton Rouge, LA
Gonzales – Sheirvan Ursin, Jarvis Christian College, Hawkins, TX
Grambling – Temitayo Michael Akinjogunla, Grambling State University, Grambling, LA
New Orleans – Marina Banks, Dillard University, New Orleans, LA

Bryans Road – Aaleah Lancaster, Bennet College, Greensboro, NC
Capitol Heights – Kayla Fontaine, Virginia State University, Petersburg, VA
Cheltenham – Leah Williams, Delaware State University, Dover, DE
Fort Washington – Ravenn Mathis, Bowie State University, Bowie, MD
Fort Washington – Antonia Hill, Spelman College, Atlanta, GA
Laurel – Salematou Traore, University Maryland Eastern Shore, Princess Anne, MD
Parkville- Marcel Jagne-Shaw, Morgan State University, Baltimore, MD
Owings Mills – Miles Jenkins, Hampton University, Hampton, VA
Waldorf – Danielle Hawkins, Hampton University, Hampton, VA
Woodbine – Mya Harvard, Spelman College, Atlanta, GA

Berrien Springs – Rian Cho, Meharry Medical College, Nashville, TN

Corinth – English Fields, Rust College, Holly Springs, MS
Edwards – Erica Harris, Hinds Community CollegeUtica Campus, Utica, MS
Greenville – Spencer Davis, Tougaloo College, Tougaloo, MS
Jackson – Nina Hill, Jackson State University, Jackson, MS
Natchez – Jonathan Weir, Alcorn State University, Alcorn, MS

Richfeild – Bryann Guyton, Shaw University, Raleigh, NC

Las Vegas – Maliq Kendricks, Tuskegee University, Tuskegee, AL

Camden – Christoff Lindsey, Prairie View A&M University, Prairie View, TX

Far Rockaway – Nathalie Nelson, Interdenominational Theological Center, Atlanta, GA
Cambria Heights- Gionelly Mills, Lincoln University of Pennsylvania, Lincoln University, PA

Charlotte – Elliot Jackson, Fayetteville State University, Fayetteville, NC
Charlotte – Raven Weathers, Livingstone College, Salisbury, NC
Charlotte – Mona Zahir, Winston Salem State University, Winston, Salem, NC
Durham – Tamina Kienka, North Carolina Central University, Durham, NC
Kinston – Kyle Brown, Winston Salem State University, Winston, Salem, NC
Winston – Salem, Tyler Duncan, Vorhees College, Denmark, SC

Cincinnati – Sierra Blackwell, Fisk University, Nashville, TN
Columbus – Christina Hathcer, Wilberforce University, Wilberforce, OH

Pittsburgh – Kevin Lee, Paul Quinn College, Dallas, TX
York – Kristin Shipley, North Carolina A&T University, Greensboro, NC

Hemingway – Kimesha Cooper, Claflin University, Orangeburg, SC
Orangeburg – Kareem Heslop, Claflin University, Orangeburg, SC
Orangeburg – Samuel Cole, South Carolina State University, Orangeburg, SC
Society Hill – Lamar Butler, Alabama State University, Montgomery, AL

Jackson – Tremaine Sails, Dunbar, American Baptist College, Nashville, TN
Memphis – Taevin Lewis, HarrisStowe State University, St. Louis, MO
Memphis – Keenan Lowery, Lane College, Jackson, TN
Memphis – Tamara Bates, Philander Smith College, Little Rock, AR

Arlington – Mira Bakine, Langston University, Langston, OK
Dallas – Nateisha Choice, Wiley College, Marshall, TX
Fort Worth – Britt Spears, Prairie View A&M University, Fort Worth, TX
Houston – Quentin Monroe, Central State University, Wilberforce, OH
Houston – Francis Vazquez, Texas Southern University, Houston, TX

Racine- Jeanni Simpson- Howard University, Washington, DC

Disputanta – Tatyana Calhoun, University of the District of Colombia, Washington, D.C.
Hampton – McKinley Strother, Elizabeth City State University, Elizabeth City, NC
Richmond – Leah Reid, Virginia Union University, Richmond, VA
Virginia Beach – Jasmine Dunbar, Norfolk State University, Norfolk, VA

St. Thomas – Tonecia Rogers, University of the Virgin Islands, St. Thomas, USVI

Enugu – Jude Okanya, Paine College, Augusta, GA

Johannesburg – Andronica Klaas, Johnson C. Smith University, Charlotte, NC

Contact:   Press Office, (202) 401-1576,