Apple, Inc. as expanded its partnerships with 10 HBCUs (Historically Black Colleges and Universities) to create community hubs for coding and creativity all over the country, as part of its Community Education Initiative. According to the release — Apple’s Community Education Initiative now extends to 24 locations across the US — 12 of which are HBCUs and 21 of which predominately serve majority Black and Brown students. Across the country, these partnerships have already introduced thousands of students and adult learners to coding and app design, using Apple’s Everyone Can Code and Everyone Can Create curricula.

“In two years, I want all HBCUs to be coding and creating,” said Melton. “In two years, you’re going to see many more people of color entering the STEM workforce — and in two years we’re going to double the number of Black women in technology through this program.” – Dr. Robbie Melton, Tennessee State University President

The Ten HBCUs working with Apple and Tennessee State University will now become hubs to promote coding: 

  • Arkansas Baptist College
  • Central State University
  • Claflin University
  • Dillard University
  • Fisk University
  • Lawson State Community College
  • Morehouse College
  • Prairie View A&M University
  • Southern University at Shreveport
  • Tougaloo College

”Apple is committed to working alongside communities of color to advance educational equity,” said Lisa Jackson, Apple’s vice president of Environment, Policy and Social Initiatives. “We see this expansion of our Community Education Initiative and partnership with HBCUs as another step toward helping Black students realize their dreams and solve the problems of tomorrow.”