6 men consisting of 5 former HBCU players and a coach were the chosen ones out of a group of 25 finalists for the Black College Football Hall of Fame! Get the full details from Kyle T. Mosley at Sports Illustrated below.

The Black College Hall of Fame enshrined its 2021 Class of inductees in Atlanta, Georgia, on June 19, 2021. The BCFOH Board of Trustees selected one HBCU football coach and five former players for this year’s honors. 

The six men selected come from 25 finalists to become members of the 2021 BCFOH class.

The 2021’s Black College Football Hall of Fame Class for enshrinement included

  1. Coy Bacon (Jackson State University), 
  2. Greg Coleman (Florida A&M University), 
  3. Jimmie Giles (Alcorn State University), 
  4. Winston Hill (Texas Southern University), 
  5. Roynell Young (Alcorn State University, 
  6. Coach Willard Bailey (Virginia Union, Norfolk State University, St. Paul’s College, Virginia-Lynchburg College).   

“On behalf of the Board of Trustees, congratulations to the Class of 2021,” said BCFHOF Co-Founder and 2011 Inductee Doug Williams. “It is a significant achievement to be considered one of the best to ever play or coach football at a Historically Black College & University.”

NFL Network’s Steve Wyche and Fox Sports broadcaster Charles Davis.

Blount emceed the 2021 Black College Football Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony & Juneteenth Celebration. The NFL’s Atlanta Falcons organization sponsored the event held on June 19, 2021.


The organization has enshrined several players with Louisiana roots. 

James “Shack” Harris and Doug Williams, the co-founders, were tremendous quarterbacks who studied the game of football under the legendary Eddie Robinson at Grambling State University.

Mel Blount was the SWAC MVP at Southern University and became a Pro Football Hall of Famer after winning four Super Bowls with the Pittsburgh Steelers.

Eddie Robinson mentored Pro Football Hall of Famer Willie Brown at Grambling University. Brown earned two Super Bowl championship rings with the Oakland Raiders and played 12 years in the NFL with 54 inceptions in his career.

The Black College Football Hall of Fame inducted former HBCU football players who starred in the NFL:  Walter Payton, Jerry Rice, Deacon Jones, Ed “Too Tall” Jones, Willie Lanier, Larry Little, Greg Lloyd, Steve McNair, Shannon Sharpe, Jackie Slater, John Stallworth, Everson Walls, Ernie “Big Cat” Ladd, Ken Houston, Richard Dent, Hugh Douglas, and “Bullet Bob Hayes.

These are not the entire members enshrined but are notable players who impacted college and professional football.

Joe Gilliam

Joe Gilliam


New Orleans Saints left tackle Terron Armstead is a former HBCU player out of Arkansas-Pine Bluff’s football program.  Armstead was drafted in the third round of the 2013 NFL Draft by New Orleans.  Armstead has been considered one of the best left tackles in the National Football League.  Last week, he opened a ‘Scholars Education Center’ in the New Orleans area for youth.

BCF Hall of Famer quarterback Joe Gilliam had a short career with the New Orleans Saints. He was an outstanding quarterback at Tennessee State before Pittsburgh drafted Gilliam in the 11th round in the 1972 NFL Draft.