Elizabeth City State University is introducing a Board of Visitors to assist and in the ambitious mission of ECSU! Learn more about who will be included and how the new board will impact the university in the ECSU release by Robert Kelly-Goss below!

ECSU Chancellor Karrie G. Dixon (Elizabeth City State University)

Elizabeth City State University has announced the appointment of the university’s Board of Visitors. According to ECSU Chancellor Karrie G. Dixon, the Board of Visitors will include a maximum of 30 members dedicated to assisting and advising her and the Board of Trustees to advance the university’s mission. One-third of the board will be appointed over the next academic year.

“As ECSU grows, it is important to continue our efforts to expand the university’s efforts to advance its mission and priorities,” said Chancellor Dixon. “This volunteer board will work closely with ECSU senior leadership and trustees to bring more success for our students and our role in the communities we serve.”

Each member of the board will be appointed to a three-year term and is limited to a maximum of two terms. The board will meet twice a year to assist ECSU in accomplishing its mission, strategic priorities and promote its many programs to the general public as ambassadors for the university. 

Credit: The University of North Carolina System

“We are excited about the energy, perspective and support these board members will bring to the university,” said Chancellor Dixon. “Their participation and active involvement on this board will assist us as we continue to forge our future.”
      The board currently consists of 11 members. They are:

  • Dr. Melvin T. Blackwell. Dr. Blackwell  is a 1987 ECSU graduate and is the Senior Pastor of the Little Zion Baptist Church in Smithfield, Virginia; 
  • Jennifer King Congleton. Ms. Congleton is a native of Winterville, North Carolina and currently serves as the administrator of chaplaincy and volunteer services for Vidant Medical Center in Greenville;
  • James E. Ford. Mr. Ford is an award-winning educator and the executive director of the Center for Racial Equity in Education and principal consultant at Filling the Gap Educational Consultants, LLC.;
  • Dr. Linda Bailey Hayden. Dr. Hayden is professor emeritus in the Department of Mathematics and director of the ECSU Center of Excellence in Remote Sensing Education and Research at ECSU;
  • Ernie Murphrey. Mr. Murphrey is the former vice chancellor for business and finance at ECSU, and formerly served as vice president for finance for the University of North Carolina System;
  • Robin M. Patterson. Ms. Patterson is a 1988 ECSU graduate and is currently the manager of global mobility and relocation for Colgate-Palmolive;
  • Attorney D. Cole Phelps.  Mr. Phelps is the founder and managing attorney of The Law Office of D. Cole Phelps, PLLC.
  • Wendy Pierce. Ms. Pierce is a graduate of ECSU and is currently the team coordinator of community benefit and grants for Sentara Healthcare;
  • Bryan Spence. Mr. Spence is an ECSU graduate and is currently a senior program manager at LinkedIn;
  • Taylor Sugg. Mr. Sugg is a president with Towne Bank’s Currituck and Outer Banks area branches;
  • Clastrola Williams. Ms. Williams has 24 years of experience in facilities and engineering and currently works as a senior manager for facilities and operations at RTI, International in Raleigh.