The Propel Center has announced the recipients of the 2022 Student Impact Scholarship. 

The $1,000,000 scholarship fund was created by the Propel Center in collaboration with Apple and Southern Company to fund the education of HBCU students interested in pursuing careers in entrepreneurship, arts & entertainment, agri-tech, social justice, and health. 

Propel Center is a global HBCU technology and innovation hub committed to developing a diverse talent pipeline. Its virtual campus provides access to top-level learning opportunities and master classes through a state-of-the-art online digital platform. 

Through this scholarship, Propel is building upon its vision of building generations of Black leaders who advance equity and justice through technology, entrepreneurship, education, and social impact.

“Bold and innovative programs such as these are essential to prepare HBCU students for the global workforce and careers of the future,” said Dr. Charles J. Gibbs, president of the Propel Center HBCU Consortium. “We were honored to launch this competitive scholarship program that will unlock opportunities and level the playing field.”

Students that were eligible to participate in the program include sophomores, juniors, seniors, and graduate students. 

Students from several HBCUs across the nation were selected as finalists for the program.

Each student will receive a $10,000 academic scholarship and the opportunity to participate in highly coveted work-placed learning opportunities.

“Making investments in HBCU students is critical to providing them with equitable access to industries in this current information and technology-driven age,” said Lisa Jackson, Apple’s Vice president of Environment, Policy, and Social Initiatives. “We’re committed to opening career pathways to help students realize their full potential and academic dreams.

Creating pathways for HBCU students to succeed is a major objective for the Propel Center. The virtual campus is committed to transforming HBCU students into “civic-minded leaders capable of dismantling systemic injustice while shaping the future through innovation and entrepreneurship.”

According to Chris Womack, chairman, and CEO of Georgia Power, his company shares the same objective. “We take great pride in helping to shape our nation’s future by working with the best and brightest minds at HBCUs, propelling them to be future leaders, innovators, and trailblazers,” said Womack. 

To learn more about the program and how it will benefit students, Propel will host an Instagram Live conversation with HBCU Buzz on Wednesday, September 7th at 1 pm ET. Guests will include Revolt TV host and FAMU Alum Brianna Harmon; Dr. Charles Gibbs, president of the Propel Center-HBCU Consortium; and the HBCU student finalists. Tune into the conversation by following @hbcubuzz and @propelcenter and the hashtag #PropelForward.

See the full list of the 2022 Student Impact Scholarship recipients below:

  • Alabama State University – Leon Payne and Guy Samandari
  • Alcorn State University – Acacia Calvin, Narkeshia Green, Tylah Magee and Isaiah Muhammad
  • Benedict College – Akil Dyson
  • Bethune Cookman University – Amari Carthan, Destanee Clark, Anjae Levias, Keeon Miller, Ty’Ron Mills, Christopher Hendrix Merriweather and Sophie Soius
  • Bishop State Community College – Celyse Drew-Robinson
  • Bowie State University – Ky’Shaun Bradford and Tyren Walker
  • Clark Atlanta University – Madysen Forney, Victoria Guerrero, Cameron Randle and Essence Spears
  • Dillard University – Victoria Hardy
  • Edward Waters University – LaDonna Milton and Obiajuru Triumph Nwadiokwu
  • Florida A&M University – Jalyn Baker, Jacqui Paige, Aniyah Sparks and Mya Wright
  • Fisk University – Jeremiah C. Armstead
  • Grambling State University – Destney Johnson
  • Howard University – Gavin Kelley and Christina Littlejohn
  • Huston Tillotson University – Ckyra Anthony, Idris Oyebamiji and Samuel Oyetakin
  • Jackson State University – Alexandria Williams
  • Johnson C. Smith University – John Josiah
  • Meharry Medical College – Elizer Harris
  • Miles College – Stephen Barclay, Deja Brooks, Jaeden Henderson, Ty’Janae Livers, Ronald Moore Jr, Destiny Shepherd and Jeremy Turner
  • Morehouse College – Jacobi Mitchell, Robert Norwood, Dwayne Pittman III, Kye Sabbath and David Totty
  • Morgan State University – Cierra Robinson
  • Morris Brown College – Julian Ross
  • Norfolk State University – Indya Richards
  • North Carolina A&T University – Jeremiah Smith, Thaddeus Stewart, Christen Daniel and Tamyah Johnson
  • North Carolina Central University – Tyler Fisher
  • Oakwood University – Makayla Monroe-Owens
  • Paul Quinn College – Darion Barrie 
  • Prairie View A&M University – Devaughn Pryor
  • Savannah State University – Camille Gladney
  • Southern University Law Center – Marina Castro
  • Spelman College – Jalyn Bradford, Alana Burrell, Dakota Carter, Zoe Carter, Aiyana Edwards, Mckenzie Franklin, Michelle Herring, Harmony Hicks, Brianna Latham, Gabriella Lee, Simaya Larry, Nadya Lopez, Raven May, Sanaa Rowser, Sierra Sands, Aya Settles, Nia Turner, Jadyn Wheaton, Lauren Williams and Morgan Wills
  • Texas Southern University – Joshua Gibson
  • West Virginia State University – Cedric Caschetta
  • Winston-Salem State University – Morgan Woodyard
  • Xavier University of Louisiana – Bethani Thomas and Zuri Williams