Members of Paine College International English Honor Society Sigma Tau Delta (

(Augusta, GA)- The Paine College Sigma Omicron chapter of Sigma Tau Delta International English Honor Society will be recognized for 30 years of distinctive service in higher education and quality in the fields of English. Sigma Tau Delta is the International English Honor Society. A member of the Association of College Honor Societies, Sigma Tau Delta was founded in 1924 at Dakota Wesleyan University.

The academic year 2011-2012 marks the 30th anniversary founding of Paine College’s Sigma Omicron chapter of Sigma Tau Delta. The chapter will be congratulated for its contribution towards the legacy of quality. Sigma Tau Delta’s Board of Directors will recognize the chapter with a special plaque at the 2012 International Convention, February 29-March 3, 2012, in New Orleans, Louisiana.

Dr. Emily Allen Williams, Chapter Sponsor and Dean of the School of Arts and Sciences, said, “The Sigma Omicron chapter members and I are pleased with this recognition. We realize how important tradition has been to our present success.  This recognition serves as a catalyst to increased participation in Sigma Tau Delta of Paine College students and faculty by attaining to the highest academic standards through an articulation of the importance of linguistic and literary studies.”

With over 800 active chapters located in the United States, Europe, the Middle East, and the Caribbean, there are more than 1,000 Faculty Sponsors, and approximately 9,000 members inducted annually.

“Supporting and maintaining a chapter for this length of time is a notable achievement, and you can be proud- as are we- of your participation in the long history of the Sigma Omicron Chapter’s involvement with the International English Honor Society, ” said William C. Johnson, executive director of International English Honor Society.

Sigma Tau Delta’s central purpose is to confer distinction upon students of the English language and literature in undergraduate, graduate, and professional studies. Sigma Tau Delta also recognizes the accomplishments of professional writers who have contributed to the fields of language and literature.

Photo Caption: Photo names from left to right:  Demetrius McCoy (President), Jenether Stampley (Vice-President), Dr. Emily Allen-Williams (Chapter Sponsor), Monica Lewis (Treasurer), Justina Leverette (Historian), Yolanda Spiller (Secretary/not pictured).

For more information, contact the Office of Communications & Marketing at 706-396-7591 or