Albany State University linebacker Jamarkus Gaskins was recently named to the 2011 Daktronics All-American Team as a first-team selection. In addition, Gaskins was named the Ron Lenz National Defensive Player of the Year.

The 6-2, 200-pound senior from Tifton, GA native was a key anchor of the Golden Rams’ “Dirty Blue” defense, recording 73 tackles (42 solo) with 17.5 tackles for loss (75 yards) in 12 games. The 2011 SIAC Defensive Player of the Year finished with a league-leading 11 sacks, which currently ranks 20th in the nation. He also had five pass breakups, three fumble recoveries for 67 yards, two quarterback hurries and a forced fumble.

Gaskins was the lone representative from the Southern Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (SIAC) to make the 2011 Daktronics All-American Team.

The team is sponsored by Daktronics, Inc., an acknowledged world leader in scoring, timing and programmable display systems for virtually every sport at every level of competition. The team is voted on by the NCAA Division II members of the College Sports Information Directors of America (D2SIDA), with the online nomination and voting process powered by ATHLETICSITE.COM.

Ron Lenz Offensive Player of the Year

Jonas Randolph, Mars Hill

Ron Lenz Defensive Player of the Year

Jamarkus Gaskins, Albany State


First Team

Pos Player School Class Ht. Wt. Hometown

TE David Cannon Central Missouri Jr. 6-2 240 St. Louis, Mo.

OL Amini Silatolu Midwestern State Sr. 6-3 320 Tracy, Calif.

OL Joe Long Wayne State (Mich.) Sr. 6-6 308 Lapeer, Mich.

OL Rod Williams Northwest Missouri Jr. 6-5 300 Grandview, Mo.

OL Garth Heikkinen Minnesota-Duluth Jr. 6-4 305 Duluth, Minn.

OL Darrell Leopold Delta State (Miss.) Sr. 6-2 305 Laurel, Miss.

WR Trey McVay Northeastern State Sr. 5-9 188 Muskogee, Okla.

WR Thomas Mayo California (Pa.) Sr. 6-2 200 Reston, Va.

QB Dane Simoneau Washburn (Kan.) Sr. 6-3 227 Salina, Kan.

RB Jonas Randolph Mars Hill (N.C.) Sr. 5-10 185 Daleville, Ala.

RB Joe Glendening Hillsdale (Mich.) Jr. 5-10 188 East Grand Rapids, Mich.

RS John Brown Pittsburg State (Kan.) So. 5-11 170 Homestead, Fla.

PK Greg Zuerlein Missouri Western Sr. 6-0 190 Lincoln, Neb.


Second Team

Pos Player School Class Ht. Wt. Hometown

TE Brian Leonhardt Bemidji State (Minn.) Jr. 6-5 253 Blaine, Minn.

OL Kyle Thornton North Alabama Sr. 6-4 345 Dallas, Texas

OL Cody Johnson Northwest Missouri Sr. 6-2 290 Jasper, Mo.

OL Tyler Hendrickson Concordia-St. Paul (Minn.) Sr. 6-8 318 St. Paul, Minn.

OL Stephen Goodin Nebraska-Kearney Sr. 6-6 310 Hastings, Neb.

OL Chandler Rearden Lenoir-Rhyne (N.C.) Sr. 6-1 265 Greenwood, S.C.

WR Trevor Kennedy Mercyhurst (Pa.) Sr. 6-0 200 Akron, Ohio

WR Troy Burrell Wayne State (Mich.) Sr. 5-10 182 Port Huron, Mich.

QB Adam Neugebauer West Virginia Wesleyan Sr. 6-2 210 Pittsburgh, Pa.

RB Jonathan Woodson Texas A&M-Kingsvllle Jr. 5-10 185 Missouri City, Texas

RB Travis Daniels North Carolina-Pembroke Sr. 5-10 205 Washington, N.C.

RS Deonte Gist Tusculum (Tenn.) Sr. 5-9 175 Wllford, S.C.

PK Kyle Major Colorado State-Pueblo Sr. 6-3 230 Littleton, Colo.


First Team

Pos Player School Class Ht. Wt. Hometown

DL David Bass Missouri Western Jr. 6-5 260 St. Louis, Mo.

DL Connor Wright Colorado Mesa Sr. 6-1 250 Wheat Ridge, Colo.

DL Jonas Celian West Virginia Wesleyan Jr. 6-1 210 North Lauderdale, Fla.

LB Marcus Dowtin North Alabama Sr. 6-2 225 Upper Marlboro, Md.

LB Nate Dreiling Pittsburg State (Kan.) So. 6-4 228 Hutchinson, Kan.

LB Alex Whitehill Fort Hays State (Kan.) Sr. 6-3 220 McPherson, Kan.

LB Jamarkus Gaskins Albany State (Ga.) Sr. 6-2 220 Tifton, Ga.

S Clarence Laster Southwestern Oklahoma Sr. 6-0 190 Hemet, Calif.

S Brody Scheff Bemidji State Sr. 6-0 206 Waconia, Minn.

CB Arthur Hobbs Nebraska-Kearney Sr. 5-11 190 San Diego, Calif.

CB Elijah Davis Shepherd (W. Va.) Sr. 5-8 192 Silver Spring, Md.

P Taylor Accardi Colorado Mines Jr. 6-2 205 Littleton, Colo.

Second Team

Pos Player School Class Ht. Wt. Hometown

DL Aston Whiteside Abilene Christian Sr. 6-0 285 Vernon, Texas

DL Todd Storm Michigan Tech Sr. 6-0 250 Calumet, Mich.

DL Randy Colling Gannon (Pa.) Sr. 6-5 320 Arcade, N.Y.

LB Jordan Campbell N.M. Highlands Jr. 6-0 230 Corona, Calif.

LB Lee Meisner Colorado State-Pueblo Sr. 6-0 240 Sterling, Colo.

LB Jeremy Aguilar Texas A&M-Kingsville Jr. 6-1 235 Los Angeles, Calif.

LB Chad Kilgore Northwest Missouri Sr. 6-1 230 Orrick, Mo.

S Jeremy Jones Wayne State (Mich.) Sr. 5-10 189 Grand Rapids, Mich.

S Bryce Peila Western Oregon Jr. 6-1 200 Central Point, Ore.

CB Dominique Davenport Delta State (Miss.) Sr. 5-10 180 Baldwyn, Miss.

CB Janoris Jenkins North Alabama Sr. 5-10 185 Pahokee, Fla.

P Ethan Kosjer Fort Hays State (Kan.) Sr. 6-3 195 Douglass, Kan.

The team, which is sponsored by Daktronics, Inc., an acknowledged leader in scoring, timing and programmable display systems, is voted on by members of the College Sports Information Directors of America (CoSIDA).


Ben Baxter
Assistant Commissioner for Communications & New Media
Southern Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (SIAC)