The Breakfast Club including; Angela Yee, DJ Envy and Charlamagne Tha God have been nominated for the 2020 class for the Radio Hall of Fame, across six categories. Hampton University alumnus Raashaun ‘DJ Envy’ Casey is our favorite for obvious reasons. Casey is a 1999 graduate of Hampton University, receiving a degree in Business Management. In an article by Hampton Alumni Affairs, Casey credits his education from Hampton as being an integral part of his success, not only as a DJ, but also as a businessman. 

“My major was business management and marketing… It took marketing to another level,” he stated. I realized that it was not necessarily all about the skills, but also about how I market myself. I used my marketing tools and everything I learned from Hampton to put towards life, and it seems to have worked out pretty well.”

HAMPTON, VIRGINIA – OCT. 21 Hampton University Homecoming parade and football game. DJ Envy on campus for Hampton University’s Homecoming in Hampton, Virginia Saturday October 21, 2017. (Photo by Jared Soares)

Here’s what Hampton President Harvey had to say about his recent accomplishments:

“Many congratulations to Mr. Raashaun Casey and his co-hosts on receiving this prestigious nomination. This is proof of their hard work over the last decade and commitment to producing quality entertainment. DJ Envy is truly an accomplished alumnus and continues to uphold Hampton University’s Standard of Excellence,”

With this category, only people who are on the participant panel for the Radio Hall of Fame will be allowed to vote for who gets inducted, however The Breakfast Club is in great company as Power 105.1’s very own Angie Martinez is nominated as well this year.

Due to COVID-19 health and safety concerns, the 2020 induction ceremony will be held as a live radio broadcast from multiple locations in October. The date and additional details will be announced along with the final inductees later this summer.