Tennessee native and country singer Kane Brown honored Tennessee State University by setting his American Music Awards performance at the HBCU! Get the full story from staff at Music Mayhem Magazine below.

Credit: Getty Images

Pre-taped at the campus of Tennessee State University (TSU), which is recognized by the US Department of Education as a Historically Black College and University (HBCU), the country superstar gave fans a look into his Tennessee and Georgia upbringing before he performed “One Mississippi.”

“It feels awesome to represent country music at the AMAs,” Brown said. “I’m not your traditional country artist, but once you crack into what I’m doing, and what a lot of other country artists are doing today, it might make you decide that you want to go back and listen to things before us.”

“Kane Brown is a Tennessee native, and he’s changing the world through his music,” Dr. Glenda Glover, President of Tennessee State University shared. “It’s amazing to have him here. We proudly welcome Kane Brown to Tennessee State University.”

Brown’s performance, which was part of the AMAs new ‘My Hometown’ segment, found the chart-topping hitmaker performing the anthemic song surrounded by TSU students.

Watch his performance below.

Co-written by Brown alongside Jesse Frasure, Levon Gray and Ernest K. Smith and produced by Dann Huff, “One Mississippi” is a “song about a relationship. I don’t know everybody’s had where you make up, and you break up, and you just keep running into each other and then something about that spark in the relationship gets y’all back together and may fall apart again, but he tried it twice at least,” according to the country hitmaker.

The track officially impacted radio on Monday, August 23. “One Mississippi” quickly became the most added song at country radio, with over 112 total stations adding the track into their rotation, marking Brown’s biggest radio impact day to date.

The 2021 American Music Awards also featured performances from Olivia Rodrigo, Bad Bunny with Tainy and Juliete Venegas, Jason Aldean and Carrie Underwood, Jennifer Lopez, BTS, Coldplay, Silk Sonic, New Edition, New Kids on the Block, Diplo, Måneskin, Mickey Guyton, Tyler, the Creator, Walker Hayes, and Zoe Wees.

The awards ceremony also included a star-studded list of presenters, including Machine Gun Kelly, Brandy, Ansel Elgort and Rachel Zegler, Anthony Ramos, Billy Porter, D-Nice, Drew Lachey, Joey Fatone and Shawn Stockman, JB Smoove, JoJo Siwa, Liza Koshy, Marsai Martin, Madelyn Cline, Michelle Young, and Winnie Harlow.

Sponsored by Xfinity, the 2021 American Music Awards is produced by MRC Live & Alternative and Jesse Collins Entertainment.

Hosted by Cardi B, the American Music Awards aired live from the Microsoft Theater in Los Angeles at 8/7c on ABC.

The show will stream again on Monday, November 22, 2021, via Hulu.